Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Looking to Integrate 9001+14001+45001+50001? Click here!

Self Declaration of ISO 45001 Compliance

Similar to OHSAS 18001:2007, the final draft of ISO/DIS 45001:2016 standard provides a “self-declaration” of compliance to requirements.

Although accredited ISO 45001 certification is not a requirement of ISO 45001, many organizations choose to seek accredited certification as an independent confirmation that their OH&S management system meets the requirements of ISO 45001.

ISO 45001 Certification has many advantages and we recommend that companies become certified through third party certification bodies (CB’s, or Registrars) like ISO 9001, etc.

This is a business decision. But there are several market, financial and trade advantages realized with certification. It may change opinions of customers, insurers, and non-certification may limit trade.

Anyone can use ISO 45001:2004 to establish, implement, maintain and improve an Occupational Health and Safety management system. But it has more impact to other stakeholders (customers, vendors, regulatory agencies) if you confirm that you are effectively using your OHSMS.

There are different types of conformance:

  1. Internal efforts to create an OHSMS that meets ISO 45001 (self-regulated)
  2. Self-declaration of conformance
    • Third party audits from interested stakeholders
    • Seeking confirmation of its self-declaration by a party external to the organization
  3. Third party verified registration of its ISO 45001 OHSMS by an external organization.

Self-declaration is an option unique to this standard, and thus organizations can simply use ISO 45001 as a guideline. Although entities can self-declare conformance to ISO 45001, this only means that they conform to a prescribed system.

ISO 45001 All in One Package