Looking to Integrate 9001+14001+27001+45001+50001? Click here!

ISO 45001:2018 in Detail: The Clause Structure

ISO 45001, Occupational Health and Safety Management, is a new standard introduced to help provide framework for organizations to improve employee safety, reduce workplace risks and create overall safer work conditions worldwide. This standard was developed by a committee of occupational health and safety experts and follows other generic management system approaches such as ISO 14001 and ISO 9001.

ISO 45001:2018 is the new Occupational Health and Safety Management System taking place of OHSAS BS 18001:2007. Before in OHSAS BS 18001, the requirements were listed in clause 4. ISO 45001:2018 has 10 Clauses with 4-10 being requirements. Although many of the requirements in clause 4 overlap with requirements throughout the new structure, it is important to go over them to understand the changes.

The core concepts include management, customer, requirements, policy, procedure, planning, performance, objective, control, monitoring, measurement, auditing, decision making, corrective action, and nonconformity. The key requirements follow the new 2015 standards.


Our All-in-One Certification Package is a proven, efficient system. It gives you all you need to prepare for registration – in one simple to use package.

Customer Review:

"I have just passed my Audit with zero non-conformances for the second year in a row using your ISO products. Thank you for producing documents of this quality"

Bettye Patrick

United Plating, Inc

Buy the Standard

45001 Store Logo  ISO 45001:2018